Victorian Softball Legends Honoured & Top Talent Recognised At Awards Dinner

Victorian Softball Legends Honoured & Top Talent Recognised At Awards Dinner

Four Victorian softball legends were honoured amongst 40 award winners recognised for their achievements in softball throughout the past season.

Victorian Softball legends Peta Edebone and Kerry Franklin were formally inducted into the Softball Victoria Hall of the Fame, celebrating their successful careers in the sport.

Known for her courage and determination in the face of adversity, Peta Edebone’s induction into the Hall of Fame marks an outstanding career that includes 330 capped games, three World Championships and three Olympics.

With a career spanning more than 21 years, commencing at the local Frankston grounds and reaching its pinnacle at the Sydney 2000 Olympics, Kerry Franklinis a stalwart of Victorian, and Australian umpiring. Her induction into the Hall of Fame celebrates not just her illustrious career on the diamond, but Franklin’s achievements off the diamond as a mentor and coach to future generations of umpires.

Exemplary contributions to umpiring also saw John Larter and Deb Keogh formally honoured with Softball Victoria Life Membership. John and Deb have both made outstanding contributions to the Victorian Umpire Program, which saw the program go from strength to strength, making them worthy recipients of Life Memberships.

Softball Victoria also awarded a number of new Awards at the 2019 ceremony. Belinda Ainslie was awarded the inaugural Community Coach of the Year Award for her achievements atDeer Park Softball Club, with Cheetahs Softball Club awarded Club of the Year, and Casey Softball Association honoured with Association of the Year for their respective outstanding achievements at grassroots and the elite level.

Talented junior athletes, Nathan Tidey and Holly Reynolds were recognised for their breakout seasons, awarded the Male and Female Emerging Junior Athlete of the Year titles, respectively.

A number of umpires, statisticians and scorers were also among those honoured, with Carolyn Di Paolo awarded the Mary Walkinshaw Scoring Award, Trevor Murphy awarded the Margo Koslelainen Umpire of the Year Award, and Emma Brooksby awarded the John Larter Umpire Development Award for their achievements and contributions to officiating throughout the 2018/19 season.

Helen Short, Bernie Cannon, Jenny Joynson, Nigel Mackey, Ray Carter and Tania Hoare were all recognised for their outstanding service to Victorian softball with the Merle Short Service Award.

Lorraine Davies was also recognised for her ongoing contributions to softball with the inaugural Lorraine Davies Statistician of the Year Award.

In addition, the gala also celebrated the Most Valuable Player and Best Team Player across all Victorian State Teams. This included Marina Walker honoured as the Open Women’s MVP along with Sam Kassianou as Open Men’s MVP. As Bree Trim & Anthony Batrich were awarded Women & Men’s Best Team Players, respectively.

Softball Victoria would like to congratulate all the award winners from the night on their achievements.

You can view the full list of award winners below. Head over to the Softball Victoria Facebook page for the full gallery of photos from the night here.

Award Winners:

Open Women MVP Marina Walker
Open Women Best Team Player Bree Trim
Open Men MVP Sam Kassianou
Open Men Best Team Player Anthony Batrich
U19 Women MVP Santara Zachan
U19 Women Best team Player Moana Benjamin
U17 Girls MVP Caitlin Laird
U17 Girls Best Team Player Isabeau Hart
U17 Boys MVP Jared Reynolds
U17 Boys Best Team Player Sam Seach
U15 Girls MVP Kasey Smith
U15 Girls Best Team Player Karri Pritchard
U15 Boys MVP Jye Robinson
U15 Boys Best Team Player Hunter Kelly
U23 Women MVP Laura Moorfield
U23 Women Best Team Player Kate Willmott
U23 Men MVP Brad Nicholson
U23 Men Best Team Player Steven Garoni
Mary Walkinshaw Scoring Award Carolyn Di Paolo
Lorraine Davies Statistician of the Year Award Lorraine Davies
Margo Koskelainen Umpire of the Year Award Trevor Murphy
John Larter Umpire Development Award Emma Brooksby
Marj Dwyer Umpire Scholarship award Rhys Fairweather
The Merle Short Service Award Helen Short
The Merle Short Service Award Bernie Cannon
The Merle Short Service Award Jenny Joynson
The Merle Short Service Award Nigel Mackey
The Merle Short Service Award Ray Carter
The Merle Short Service Award Tania Hoare
Life Member John Larter
Life Member Deb Keogh
Hall of Fame Kerry Franklin
Hall of Fame Peta Edebone
Community Coach of the Year Belinda Ainslie
Emerging Junior Athlete – Male Nathan Tidey
Emerging Junior Athlete – Female Holly Reynolds
Association of the Year Casey Softball Association
Club of the Year Cheetahs Softball Club